JB Enterprises

JB Enterprises - Johan Bezem

Interim Management & Consulting

Personal Data

I was born in 1964 in Rotterdam, the Netherlands. Further stations were Oosterhout and Eindhoven, for youth, school and university.
Since 1990 I live and work in Germany, mainly as freelance consultant, interim manager, project manager and software developer, with a special focus on embedded systems in the areas of automotive engineering and medical equipment.

If you want to get to know me better, you can of course talk with me directly.
In addition, I can also recommend the following books:

  • "The soul of a new machine" – Tracy Kidder
    This book relates the development of a new computer near the end of the seventies. The author has attended this endeavor as a journalist, and not only describes the technical achievements but especially also the atmosphere.
    This book gave me a sleepless night in 1985. This atmosphere was something I also wanted to experience myself. And in embeded systems development sometimes this tension, this euphoria and also this disappointment really is present.
  • "Zen and the art of motorcycle maintenance: An inquiry into values" – Robert M. Pirsig
    This title has fascinated me already during my university years: I found it as a literature reference in several articles in the magazine "Computer" of the IEEE. An unusual reference for a scientific publication on computer science.
    It was only much later when I first actually read the book, also because it took me about 15 years to get through the first 30 or so pages. But then the book gripped me.
    The author conveys in a seemingly autobiographic tale with many layers an understanding for the concept of "Quality" that far exceeds just examples. As I was reading I had a light-bulb moment, which is one of the reasons I re-read the book about every two years.
  • "The Effective Executive: The Definitive Guide to Getting the Right Things Done" – Peter F. Drucker
    This book came to my attention when I subscribed to the podcast "Manager Tools". You frequently hear that efficiency and effectivity are different concepts, and in principle you do understand. But how to turn this understanding into practical behavior? What does it mean for a manager? That's what you'll find succinctly in this book.
    Both the book and the podcast I recommend without reservations. They absolutely shaped my management style.

If you read these three books, you'll have a better understanding of my motivations for the work I do and love.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict Valid CSS www.bezem.de: © 1999 – 2018 by Johan Bezem, all rights reserved.
This page was last updated on Tuesday, 2017-10-03 16:16.

JB Enterprises

JB Enterprises - Johan Bezem

Interim Management & Consulting

Persönliche Daten

Geboren bin ich 1964 in Rotterdam in den Niederlanden. Weitere Stationen waren Oosterhout und Eindhoven, für Jugend, Schule und Studium.
Seit 1990 wohne und arbeite ich in Deutschland, hauptsächlich als freiberuflicher Berater, Interim Manager, Projektleiter und Software Entwickler, mit Schwerpunkt eingebettete Systeme ("Embedded Systems") in den Bereichen 'Automotive' und 'Medical Equipment'.

Wer mich besser kennenlernen möchte, kann sich selbstverständlich gern mit mir direkt unterhalten.
Im Übrigen kann ich dann noch folgende Lektüre empfehlen:

  • "Die Seele einer neuen Maschine" – Tracy Kidder
    Dieses Buch beschreibt die Entwicklung eines neuen Computers Ende der siebziger Jahre. Der Autor hat dieses Unterfangen als Journalist begleitet, und beschreibt nicht nur die technischen Leistungen sondern speziell auch die Atmosphäre.
    Mich hat dieses Buch in 1985 eine schlaflose nacht besorgt. Diese Atmosphäre war etwas was ich auch selbst erleben möchte. Und im Bereich der eingebetteten Systeme ist diese Spannung, diese Euphorie und auch diese Enttäuschung manchmal wirklich noch vorhanden.
  • "Zen und die Kunst ein Motorrad zu warten" – Robert M. Pirsig
    Dieser Titel hat mich schon während meiner Uni-Zeit fasziniert: Ich fand ihn als Literaturreferenz in verschiedenen Artikeln der Zeitschrift "Computer" vom IEEE. Eine ungewöhnliche Referenz für eine wissenschaftliche Publikation im Bereich der Informatik.
    Gelesen habe ich das Buch erst viel später, auch weil ich für die ersten 30 Seiten etwa 15 Jahre gebraucht habe. Aber dann hat mich das Buch gegriffen.
    Der Autor vermittelt in einer autobiografisch anmutende Geschichte mit vielen Deutungsebenen ein Verständnis für den Begriff "Qualität" der weit über Beispiele hinausgeht. Beim Lesen hatte ich zum Schluss ein Aha-Erlebnis, und auch deshalb lese ich dieses Buch etwa alle zwei Jahre neu.
  • "The Effective Executive: Effektivität und Handlungsfähigkeit in der Führungsrolle gewinnen" – Peter F. Drucker
    Dieses Buch lernte ich kennen als ich den Podcast "Manager Tools" abonnierte. Man hört zwar oft, dass Effizienz und Effektivität unterschiedlich sind, und vom Prinzip her versteht man es auch. Aber wie man diesen Unterschied in der Praxis umsetzen kann und muss, was es für einen Manager bedeuetet, findet man kurz und knapp in diesem Buch.
    Sowohl das Buch wie auch der Podcast sind eine absolute Empfehlung. Sie haben meine Art von Management absolut geprägt.

Die Links zu den englischsprachigen Originalen finden Sie auf der englischspachigen Seite.

Wenn Sie diese drei Bücher lesen, bekommen Sie ein besseres Verständnis für meine Motivation zu der Arbeit die ich mache und liebe.

Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict Valid CSS www.bezem.de: © 1999 – 2018 by Johan Bezem, all rights reserved.
This page was last updated on Thursday, 2018-10-04 05:21.